Sprite Most Significant Bit

Do you live and breathe hexadecimal? Do you like speaking to hardware directly?

Moderator: Programming Moderators

Post Reply
nico24
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:49 pm

Sprite Most Significant Bit

Post by nico24 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:52 pm

Currently I have a sprite routine that checks for X position and if > 256 it manually updates a variable to then update the most significant bit of the sprite.

The documentation for sprite alludes to there being a kind of automatic update of this MSB.

Is that true? Or must it be done manually, as I am currently doing?

Thanks in advance,

Nico

User avatar
mdf200
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:52 am
Location: Dundee
Contact:

Re: Sprite Most Significant Bit

Post by mdf200 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:02 pm

The SIG bit of a sprite has to be set manually

nico24
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:49 pm

Re: Sprite Most Significant Bit

Post by nico24 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:17 pm

Yep - excellent. Thanks for the confirmation.

dave18
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 1:06 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Sprite Most Significant Bit

Post by dave18 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:15 pm

But the way it is set up allows you to ADC A,0 on the 3 sprite reg after you INC/ADD the first x position reg so you don't need any complicated code to check whether x>255.

Post Reply