HDMI causing background noise to sound output...

This section is for discussing everything about Next hardware and latest updates.
MSuomi

HDMI causing background noise to sound output...

Postby MSuomi » Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:17 am

Transferred my Next to my actual computer table, to be more usable.
Noticed, that while Next is connected to my amp via 3.5" -> RCA-cable, as long as HDMI is connected there is constant "chirping" (or whatever, you know what I mean) sound coming through speakers). And this comes through, no matter which input on amp is chosen.

I believe, that the only way to get rid of this is to modify something on motherboard (like a filtering capacitor)...

Modifying isn't the problem, but I'm not an engineer ;)

Alcoholics Anonymous

Re: HDMI causing background noise to sound output...

Postby Alcoholics Anonymous » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:41 pm

Could you try "REG 2,128" from basic to see if it goes away?

There are two things here which may contribute to poor audio on hdmi. One is the cable is too long and/or you have something in between the computer and the tv so that it's not a direct connection.

The other is in the core version. We tried for a short time to use the full 16-bit width of hdmi audio and found out some tvs didn't generate correct audio. This is in core version 3.01.05 and is corrected in 3.01.06. If the first two above aren't the cause, a later core should be tried next.

MSuomi

Postby MSuomi » Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:02 pm

Alcoholics Anonymous wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:41 pm
Could you try "REG 2,128" from basic to see if it goes away?

There are two things here which may contribute to poor audio on hdmi. One is the cable is too long and/or you have something in between the computer and the tv so that it's not a direct connection.